I was looking for a job, and then I found a job, and heaven knows I’m not miserable at all


Yay so I have a big announcement that you mignt have peiced together, but stay with me here.

Firstly I just would like to say hi and welcome back to the blog, I’ve been quiet the last few months, mainly as there was not much to report and also because what I could have been reporting may have fallen through by then and I would look a bit silly.

However a long enough time has passed now and things have happened now, so I mayas well go and say it. Way back in some of the first posts of this blog, I mention about getting a radio job and all through this blog it’s been an underlying storyline. I’d done radio before at Swindon FM and really enjoyed that, and then did all sortsat various places, working towards a paid position working in radio. Things were going mega slow though and felt like maybe education was the way to go, or as I put it then “a bit of paper to prove I’m as good as I say I am”.

I got those bits of paper and graduated last year. This evening almost a year later after celebrating my 2:1, I’m celebrating my new radio job… yeah I actually have one now. Some fools are paying me to say things in the radio!

So it’s not a radio show, and I may not be on air for a while, and that isn’t really a mega big deal, but I will be based at BBC Bristol working for a company that produces the traffic and travel reports for the south west. For you radio geek friends, basically it’s a room with a few work stations which consists of some monitors, a mic, an ISDN line some nifty software. My job will be editing the incidents on the system for now, until i get mlre experience. I’m mega glad about it and Aphre is too, she gave me a Rubicon and some shorts, and we had some chips and a sausage for a success celebration. It was all much appreciated. She has been so supportive and helped me out loads, especially with the whole thing of me not thinkingwhether it would happen or if i deserved it.

So there you go… all good. I’m in training at the moment so won’t be doing anything actively until that is done. I am a happy boy.

Leave a comment